Backported from a later March 2023 Blog Archive, has small changes, original blog has a last updated date of March 27th

Ah, Adobe Flash.

If you were lucky enough to have a computer (or at least have access to one for more than 5 minutes) in the past 10 to 20 years, you've probably heard of the wonderful world of browser games. Whenever it's actually Flash, or something like HTML5, maybe you somehow found a game made in Shockwave (i don't think i have), something else?

If you've actually used technology in that timeframe, you've most likely played a game like that at some point. I know I have, always getting on Silver Games or Andkon Arcade. Sometimes I'd try an actual site directly, like Armor Games.

It was just a fun time then. It was fun to get on, play the dumbest shit you could find, and go goof off. I could probably name a lot of games I faintly remember playing but can't find anymore. One of those was this kind of Bomberman series with I think more than 5 games, somewhere like that? I don't remember much ughh, I wish I did. I was also the type to play Minecraft-themed shit, obviously. I think there was this one game called Guildcraft, it was a clicker which was boring, but you actually had to buy items together to click faster, and you could only unlock some items if you bought others, kind of keeps it like how Minecraft's crafting system was, I guess.

I feel like now I'm just rambling to myself, but flash games were a fun time. You had the best shit, the worst shit, and the weird shit. Whenever you were at school, goofing off at home, or just needed to do something while waiting for that super cool event, you could pick up a flash game and play.

Now it feels moreso like a novelty. Or a one way ticket into nostalgia. Obviously, anything outdated is bound to do that, I mean why else are we using SpaceHey instead of modern Myspace? Yuck. But the thing is, SpaceHey is just a recreation of something that existed. Flash is something that's actually dead, yet still kind of works with the original software. It's weird, it's kind of like the feeling you get when you use MSN Messenger in modern day. Yes, that's a thing, and it's cool.

Sometimes, it feels like people have moved on from Adobe Flash, as if the games made in it don't exist anymore. Obviously, I'm not saying all flash games are gone forever because of Flash's death. I mean, we did get a Henry Stickmin game on Steam, after all. We also have the Fancy Pants Adventure games (that's the right game, right?) on Steam too. We also have Mutiliate a Doll 2, if you remember that (props to those who do, loved that and Interactive Buddy!), although People Playground is more popular, which is basically the same thing.

Regardless, I'm saying we've moved on from Flash easily. Our memories of playing Flash is just a dead memory to us now, and we've moved on. Which, is obviously a part of growing up, but doesn't it feel unfair to not at least visit back every once and a while, and think back on the goofy games we used to play then?